Why We Love Venice

Kris and I just returned from a trip to Italy that was nothing short of magical. Sure, I may have gained twenty pounds and possibly got ripped off on a “genuine leather” purse, but it was the best trip I’ve ever taken. And I’ve been a few places.The Rialto Bridge

Before we left, I had asked quite a few people who had been to Italy before what they thought and what I should look forward to. I was astounded by how many people did not like Venice. I KNOW. In my head, I’m thinking “So, you don’t like five hundred years of history that includes beautiful canals, winding alley ways and greats like Marco Polo and Casanova?” It’s Casanova people, I’m pretty sure he was the ultimate romantic. Or man whore, either way.The Grand Canal

But no. Haters will hate. I was told that “Venice smells.” OK. Let’s be honest. There are parts of Venice that don’t smell like roses. BUT if you’ve ever been to any big city in America, or I’m going to go ahead and say the big word, WORLD, I’m pretty sure you will always have a faint smell of urine on your nose. I was told that Venice was too crowded. Ummm, it was a city built on the water with no cars and tiny little streets. And in the 21st century there just so happen to be millions of visitors that go every year. So yeah, sometimes there are a lot of people.St. Mark's Square

I just don’t get it, peeps! Venice was GORGEOUS! I want to go back and ask all of these people, “Have you SEEN the Rialto Bridge?” “Have you SEEN St. Mark’s Square at sunset?” “Have you SEEN the adorable sweetheart locks that people illegally place on all of the bridges?” Venice is stunning. Sitting in St. Mark’s Square people watching and drinking $30 cappuccinos was one of the best things I’ve done lately. Getting lost in the hustle and bustle of the small alleys is part of the allure of Venice. Ducking into a bar to get a bellini to go is amazing! If you use your imagination and have a good sense of romance, you’ll never want to leave. Promise.Sweetheart Locks

 

You know you want to add something...here's your chance! Or you can just say you loved it!